Sweet Treats: Healthy Apple Crumble Recipe

If you asked me what my favourite food is, I would tell you “apple crumble”. This has been true for literally my entire life. I’m not exaggerating when I say that. There’s a home video of me when I was just able to speak (…maybe 18 months old?) where my Mum behind the camera has the following conversation with me:

Mum: Kimberley, What’s your favourite lunch?

Baby Me: Apple Pie.

Mum: Kimberley, What’s your favourite dinner?Β 

Baby Me: Apple Pie.

So, it may come as no surprise that when I left home, I prioritised learning how to make a MEAN apple crumble. Recently, after finding out my sister is allergic to gluten, I adapted my crumble recipe to make it celiac-friendly (because nobodyΒ should have to live a crumble-less life). Then I decided to give it a healthy make over by getting rid of the butter too! Now, I love it so much, it’s the only crumble I make! Here is my recipe:

Sweet treats to make for mom

  1. Preheat the oven to 200ΒΊC
  2. Peel and chop the apples
  3. Stew the apples (use normal eating apples and make the most of their natural sweetness!) with the sultanas in 4 tbsp water and a touch of cinnamon for around 15 minutes, until soft
  4. Mix all of the dry ingredients for the crumble mix – add the sugar last and make sure it’s evenly distributed through the mix
  5. Melt the coconut oil and drizzle it over the crumble, stirring until thoroughly coated
  6. Layer it up! Place the layer of stewed apples in the bottom of a dish, and press the crumble on top. Finish up with a sprinkle of cinnamon and pop in the oven for 40-50 minutes!

DSCF0412

DSCF0430

DSCF0442

The one thing I will admit about this recipe, which may be an issue for crumble pure-ists, is that it doesn’t stay in layers when you serve it up. But let’s be honest, it all gets mixed up anyway :p

Also, pro tip – don’t pay silly money for oat flour, it’s super easy to make yourself. I blend mine in our Nutribullet!

 

DSCF0450

3 thoughts on “Sweet Treats: Healthy Apple Crumble Recipe

Leave a Reply

